It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 4/10/17

On the blog: My #MustReadin2017 update A slice about marathoning Gilmore Girls with my son In reading: My favorite book of the week was Sandra Merkle’s nonfiction picture book, The Great Leopard Rescue: Saving the Amur Leopards. The photos are absolutely gorgeous, and there is so much interesting information. I told my husband he had…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 2/20/17

Dr. Critchlore’s School for Minions is no Hogwarts, but the book is a good choice for fans of Harry Potter or The Lightning Thief–anyone who likes a little supernatural in their middle-grade fiction. The plot is simple: someone is trying to sabotage Dr. Critchlore’s School for Minions, and Runt Higgins, underdeveloped werewolf, has taken it…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 2/13/17

Matt Phelan transports the Snow White fairy tale to 1920s New York with magical results. The fundamental elements of the tale are still there, but there are so many creative choices that will resonate for older readers: the seven dwarves have become seven street kids; the glass coffin has become a picture window at Macy’s;…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 1/2/16

First Monday reading post of the year! I spent the week catching up on some middle-grade titles and trying to figure out what book would be the perfect first read of 2017. Embarrassing Newbery confession: I’ve never read Turtle in Paradise! There are only a handful of modern Newbery winners and honor books I haven’t…