It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 2/20/17

Dr. Critchlore’s School for Minions is no Hogwarts, but the book is a good choice for fans of Harry Potter or The Lightning Thief–anyone who likes a little supernatural in their middle-grade fiction. The plot is simple: someone is trying to sabotage Dr. Critchlore’s School for Minions, and Runt Higgins, underdeveloped werewolf, has taken it…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 2/6/17

It’s hard to imagine a more powerful introduction to the Civil Rights Movement than John Lewis’s graphic novel trilogy, March. Lewis’s leadership position in the movement gives him an insider’s view of the most important events, but March isn’t only about historical events: it’s also about how to live with integrity and meaning, how to…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 1/30/17

On the blog: My 10 Favorite Choices from the ALA Youth Media Awards last week In reading: Du Iz Tak?¬†was an obvious choice for the Caldecott. Since the text is written in a made-up insect language, the book’s illustrations are essential to comprehension. With patient reading and attention to detail, readers can understand the meaning…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr

On the blog: I caved and made a #MustReadin2017 list after all–crowdsourced from everyone else’s list! I shared a fun nonfiction picture book about African-American inventor Lonnie Johnson along with a few nonfiction picture book reading goals for 2017 Daily is my One Little Word for 2017 Learn more about establishing daily habits, surprising good…