It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 4/24/17

I almost didn’t post this week because I’m nearly-but-not-quite finished with several novels and memoirs. There isn’t much to share. But blogging routine is important, and I did read a handful of picture books. Luke’s Way of Looking is a smart and superbly illustrated story about an artistic boy who simply doesn’t see the world…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 4/10/17

On the blog: My #MustReadin2017 update A slice about marathoning Gilmore Girls with my son In reading: My favorite book of the week was Sandra Merkle’s nonfiction picture book, The Great Leopard Rescue: Saving the Amur Leopards. The photos are absolutely gorgeous, and there is so much interesting information. I told my husband he had…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 4/3/17

For those who struggle to comprehend much math or computer talk (like me!), biographies of Ada Lovelace can be tricky. Much as I want to love her, I just can’t quite understand what her big ideas were. But Robinson translates Lovelace’s ideas into language that even I could follow. And the art is exquisite. A…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 3/27/17

This book cover does not need a name on it for us to know whose work it is. Which is actually kind of amazing when you think about it. I mean, it’s a big brown triangle with crazy eyes. But you know it’s Jon Klassen’s work. Triangle is another very fine and slightly off-kilter-in-a-good-way collaboration…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 3/13/17

On the blog: Many slices! A list of Small Gratitudes A description of what my teacher desk held 3 rules all sports parents should live by What sitting down to read looks like when reading is hard When a piece of writing just won’t click Finding a slice in preparing Ethiopian food A description of…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 2/20/17

Dr. Critchlore’s School for Minions is no Hogwarts, but the book is a good choice for fans of Harry Potter or The Lightning Thief–anyone who likes a little supernatural in their middle-grade fiction. The plot is simple: someone is trying to sabotage Dr. Critchlore’s School for Minions, and Runt Higgins, underdeveloped werewolf, has taken it…