What I Want to Say: Slice of Life 21/31 #sol17

slice of life

What I Want to Say:

No.

We’ve been over this before.

We’re done here.

I’m not having this conversation.

Because I said so.

I am the parent. You are the child.

This is not up for discussion.

What I Will Say:

This is so important to you.

I really want to hear you on this.

I’m so glad we can talk about hard things.

It’s important to me to listen closely.

This is a tough one.

I really want to be supportive of the things you want to do.

I wonder how we will resolve this.

 

10 thoughts on “What I Want to Say: Slice of Life 21/31 #sol17

  1. Inside thoughts and out loud spoken words, what a difference. You know your child, so you know what will yield the best results. But don’t you wish you could just end it with the thoughts swirling in your mind?

  2. Does it take a lot for you to transition this way with your child? I don’t have children and I often wondered if there is difficulty with the way you interact with your own. I imagine at times it would be trying. Enjoyed reading your poem.

Leave a Reply

