What I’m Doing Instead of Commenting on Student Papers: Slice of Life 20/31 #sol17

slice of life

Scrolling through Facebook

Checking my phone

Putting on a load of laundry

Restocking paper products in the bathroom

Counting the number of papers I have to grade

Searching for the right pen to begin the job

Taking a snack break

Scrolling through Facebook

Checking my phone

Moving some stacks of books to a different room

Picking out an outfit for tomorrow

Scrolling through Facebook

Checking my phone

Organizing the papers into separate stacks

Scrolling through Facebook

Checking my phone

Taking the dog out

Seeing what the cats are up to

Reordering the papers into different separate stacks

Taking photos of the cats

Refilling pet water bowls

Scrolling through Facebook

Checking my phone

Finding a better pen to begin the job

Cleaning the stove

Scrolling through Facebook

Checking my phone

14 thoughts on “What I’m Doing Instead of Commenting on Student Papers: Slice of Life 20/31 #sol17

  1. Ha! I loved the repetition of your poem. It definitely feels like that when you are procrastinating on grading students’ writing. I can relate. It sounds like you were otherwise productive!

  2. Facebook and phones, what did we ever do to distract ourselves without them?! When I was reading your poem, I felt a little bit like was scrolling through a feed, and just waiting for those words to pop up again.

  3. I spent tonight not grading papers, so I could totally relate to this. And I also count papers that need grading and wonder why, why, WHY I do it. I mean, seriously. WHY?

    • Isn’t it so mysterious? I separate mine into little stacks. Stacks of hope, I call them, because I calculate how many papers I need to grade each day to get them back to students on a designated day. And once I make the little stacks of 4, 5, 10, then I promptly get up and do something else. Because hey, I counted out stacks! Surely I’ve done my work for today?

      • Stacks of hope is brilliant. Why did I never think of this? And, yes, separating into stacks gets you once step closer so it totally counts as work.

Leave a Reply

