Six-Word Memoirs About Slicing: Slice of Life 29/31 #sol16

slice of life

Fishing for slices, baiting the hook

To slice is to notice, wonder

Are my eyes and ears open?

Stuck. No thoughts. No words. Nothing.

Check my email. More comments yet?

Just one more cup of coffee

Repeat lines, borrow structures and formats

Should I write about folding laundry?

Someone should write about folding laundry.

No doubt someone has sliced laundry.

No new slices under the sun

Five baskets wait to be folded.

Cats burrow in clean laundry, never dirty.

Dirty dishes, alarm clocks, brushing teeth.

Walking the dog, feeding the cats.

Remember the wonder of ordinary moments.

Do meaningful stories really lurk there?

Maybe for others, not for me.

Maybe tomorrow, but definitely not today.

First, one more cup of coffee.

 

Thanks to Kathleen Sokolowski for the idea to write a slice in the six-word memoir format.

16 thoughts on “Six-Word Memoirs About Slicing: Slice of Life 29/31 #sol16

  1. This is a great structure. I feel your pain…slicing EVERYDAY is hard. I think these lines,
    “Do meaningful stories really lurk there?
    Maybe for others, not for me,:
    really capture the writerly way…finding those lurking stories in the ordinary. Thanks for the slice.

  2. Slicing about folding laundry is kind of like my post today – riding in the car – I to was looking for words today. It seems many of us are feeling that end of the month loss of words! Nice post!

  3. I love this. It just feels so honest and relatable -checking the email, laundry, dishes – so much is that stuff. Where’s the meaning? Not sure, but I prefer this.

  4. I don’t write about folding laundry but do fold laundry and read picture books! This poem is impressive, I am not very good with structure but this looks like a great challenge!

  5. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 4/4/16 | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

