My Year in Blogging: Readers’ Five Favorite Posts in 2015

bloglove

I don’t really track stats on my blog, but I always look forward to the annual summary stats that WordPress prepares for bloggers. I like the randomness of some of the information: people from 82 countries visited my blog! I’m especially popular in Canada! June 14 saw the most single-day visits: 350! (What the heck did I write about on June 14?!)

Once again, my top-viewed post in 2015 is one I published in 2013, What If I’m Not a Good Teacher? (Spoiler alert: you won’t be! It’s okay.) This is a topic I’m determined to revisit in 2016, because I think I have some different things to say about it now. (Though I can still promise the inspirational perspective of “you won’t be.”)

A failed Top 10 list came in second. I could only come up with 7 kinda-sorta-not-really read-alikes for The One and Only Ivan, but I’m still pleased with that list. Revisiting the list tonight, I wondered if I couldn’t think of three measly titles more to round out the list. But no. What is it about that book?!

10 Ideas for Getting Started with #SummerPD makes a surprise appearance at the three spot. Proof, perhaps, that readers like posts with numbers and hashtags?

Another book list (with numbers and hashtags!) comes in fourth: 10 Picture Books I Can’t Wait to Share with My College Students. And yes, they were all wonderful books to share!

Finally, A Writing Life Requires Bravery is one of my own favorite pieces of the year. I love it when writing a piece helps me discover something I didn’t know before I started writing. This post shares an awkward moment from one of my classes when my students refused to share their writing along with my reflections on what that moment meant.

 

One thought on “My Year in Blogging: Readers’ Five Favorite Posts in 2015

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 1/4/16 | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

