Things My Son Taught Me: Slice of Life #sol15

slice of life

How to throw a spiral
How to take a punch
How to remove grass stains from white clothes
How to divide fractions
How to salt food
How to angle an earring
How to lace a shoe
How to tell a Ford from a Chevy from a Dodge
How to laugh at what hurts
How to stay in the room
How to sit very still and get very small and be very quiet
How to sing opera badly
How to look with fresh eyes after the 1000th “Mom! Look!”
How to say yes
How to wake up tomorrow and do it again

 

11 thoughts on “Things My Son Taught Me: Slice of Life #sol15

  1. Sons and daughters teach us so much. Parenting does not come with a manual so we must learn through trial and error. Maybe I need a lesson from your son in identifying cars, my husband would love that. 🙂

  2. How to look with fresh eyes after the 1000th “Mom! Look!”
    How to say yes
    How to wake up tomorrow and do it again

    And that’s all YOU and your husband, and the love and patience that’s leading him this way.

  3. So often your words make me smile or cry or do both simultaneously. I love this way of seeing both of you in just a few words. I too may have to use this as a mentor text. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Beautiful post!! I love that you can say so much in so few words. This really made me think of my little brother and all the things he’s taught me over the years. Thank you for your slice!!!

  5. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 6/8/15 | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

