5 Things I Loved About This Week #celebratelu 7/19/14

celebrate link up

Ruth Ayres hosts a weekly celebration at her blog. I appreciate this invitation to look for positives at the end of my week.

1. Walking in the rain. It wasn’t in the forecast, so we were surprised when we headed out to walk the dog and found ourselves walking in the rain yesterday. Roxy is a sensitive dog, and walking in the rain is not her favorite thing. She had to stop many times to shake. But it’s supposed to be around 100 for the next week, so we took an extra couple of loops around the park to enjoy the cool breeze and cold rain while it lasted.

2. Finding just the words I needed to use on my son exactly when I needed them. I took a little parenting time-out this afternoon and read a few pages in my current parenting book, Reparenting the Child Who Hurts. My son was stuck, and I couldn’t figure out what to say or do to unstick him. I wasn’t expecting to come upon the perfect script in my current read: I was just skimming a few pages to calm down and regulate myself. But there it was. The exact words I needed. How I love reading serendipity!

3. Rereading. I have so many new books I want to read, I rarely spend time rereading. But last week I checked Kathleen Norris’s Dakota: A Spiritual Geography out of the library. I first read the book many years ago, long before I relocated permanently to South Dakota. This line from the first chapter beautifully captures why I stay: “the western Plains now seem bountiful in their emptiness, offering solitude and room to grow.”

4. Laughter.  So many tough moments this week, but also much laughter. My son even joked about his own terror of the “mom touch”. For you Diary of a Wimpy Kid readers, it’s kind of like having the cheese touch. You get it by virtue of being a mom, which is a super scary thing to traumatized adopted kids.

5. Ice cream. If laughter doesn’t cure what ails you, try ice cream. I am still thinking about a salted caramel hot fudge sundae I had on Monday. Given how many days of hot weather we have ahead of us, I’m imagining I may consume quite a bit of emotionally uplifting ice cream.

9 thoughts on “5 Things I Loved About This Week #celebratelu 7/19/14

  1. Finding just the right words when you need them is always worth celebrating! Walking, reading, laughing and eating ice cream follow close behind. I trust these delights have come to visit for awhile! 🙂

    • How I love finding the right words when I need them! And then memorizing them so I can use them again! Because some things need to be said many times before they really penetrate. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Oh dear, the mom touch… I could see that catching on! I hope the parenting book continues to be serendipitous whenever needed! And I will join you in that salted caramel fudge goodness!

  3. Ice cream! I had such good ice cream in New England. It is no where near as good in SoCal. I enjoyed a few thunderstorms while I was in Connecticut. It was so fun.

    • Why is ice cream in New England so much better than ice cream anywhere else?! Those New Englanders have some sort of secret trick that they should really share with the rest of America! Love those summer thunderstorms–especially when they are NOT accompanied by hail!

  4. I have a feeling that just the right words came to you to help your son because you were centered enough to find them. Although there might be one sort of “mom touch” that shares its connotation with “cheese touch,” the reflection, ice cream, and reading in which you are partaking will surely hone another figurative sort of “mom touch” that is healing.

  5. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 7/21/14 #imwayr | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

