Top 10 Books I’ve Read So Far in 2014

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and Bookish. I love the topic of this week’s list: the Top 10 Books I’ve Read So Far in 2014. My reading goal for 2014 is 200 books, not counting picture books. 200 books is more than I’ve managed to finish in a year before, but I am on track to reach that goal. I’ve read 86 books so far, again not counting picture books. Limiting myself to just 10 favorite titles proved impossible: I decided to make a fat list of 12. Lists should always have bonuses, right?

disenchantments

The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour

tapir scientist

The Tapir Scientist by Sy Montgomery, photographed by Nic Bishop

forgive me leonard peacock

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

yaqui

Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass by Meg Medina

a crooked kind of perfect

A Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban

this is how you lose her

This Is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz

beauty queens

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

half a chance

Half a Chance by Cynthia Lord

jinxs magic

Jinx’s Magic by Sage Blackwood

grasshopper jungle

Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith

my name is jason mine too

My Name Is Jason. Mine too. by Jason Reynolds and Jason Griffin

chasing cheetahs

Chasing Cheetahs by Sy Montgomery, photographed by Nic Bishop

 

 

10 thoughts on “Top 10 Books I’ve Read So Far in 2014

    • I never feel too badly if I don’t follow through on a reading goal, though I have a feeling I’m going to make a wild push in December to get to 200 even if it seems unlikely. Go, chapter books! I don’t think I’ve ever hit 200 either. I did get close last year–in the 180s–which is what inspired me to go for 200 this year.

    • I really want to read Nina Lacour’s new novel. Might have to break down and order. I constantly tell myself to stop ordering books and you can imagine about how well that goes over. Grasshopper Jungle is completely insane! It’s one I’ll be thinking about for awhile.

  1. Yaqui Delgado is on both your list and Kellee’s list. I guess I better check it out! I love Matthew Quick. He is definitely one of my favorite YA authors. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 6/16/14 #imwayr | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

