5 Things I Loved About Last Week #celebratelu 6/7/14

celebrate link up

Ruth Ayres hosts a weekly celebration on her blog. I appreciate this invitation to find positives at the end of the week.

1. The summer rec program started. I live in a tiny town without many interesting things for kids to do, but the summer rec program is really stellar. For just $5 per activity, kids can enroll in a variety of sports and art classes that meet 2-4 times per week for at least an hour and last for 4-7 weeks. Best. Deal. Ever. In the past, my son has done just about everything, but this year he decided to be selective: flag football, baseball, basketball, and bowling. I love the extra exercise he’s getting, the positive attention he’s getting from adults, and the three hours a day of free time I suddenly find myself with! I will even try not to complain about the interminable baseball games I will have to sit through every Thursday for the next seven weeks.

2. Inspired by a reread of Mercy Watson, I had a very Mercy Watson lunch on Thursday, and yes, hot buttered toast, even when it’s not quite toasty enough, would seem to have the potential to solve many of the world’s problems.

mercywatson lunch3. Plenty of very fine pet moments. My son set up a special kitty nest in the laundry basket, and kitties have used it liberally all week:

laundryAnd then Roxy decided that she could be a kitty too:

roxyinlaundry

There were plenty of silly Frances moments:

sillyfrances

And my favorite photo of the week, my beautiful kid and my favorite cat:

favoritekidandcat

I have no idea why she’s putting her feet on his face or why he’s letting her. I like to joke that Frances is the amazing germ-free cat (her nickname is Perfect, after all), but I happen to know that she was downstairs in the cat box about two seconds before this photo was snapped.

4. We did some family art together. I always have these big ideas for things like Family Art Night (in capitals), but then we play cards or watch basketball instead. But this week it really happened. I don’t consider myself to be remotely artistic, but somewhere online I saw someone drawing some Sharpie loopy lines and coloring in the shapes that were created. And it turns out that this is a GREAT art project for the non-artistic.

art

Since I’m me, naturally I want to try to goalify Family Art Time, so now I’m thinking that I should create one art project each week over the summer. That’s a lot of Sharpie loopy lines.

5. I have been thinking for several weeks of trying to write something about parenting for a Tuesday Slice, but I kept talking myself out of it. I had many, many different reasons in my head for why I shouldn’t publish a parenting piece. And I still have all those reasons, and they’re good reasons. But finally this week, I was working on a piece that I really wanted to finish and publish. So I did. My mom texted me that the piece read like I nailed it the first time–seamless and flowing. To which I could only laugh hysterically. Because it’s so much work to write something that seems effortless. But also very satisfying.

Bonus: this beauty started blooming:

iris - Copy

 

9 thoughts on “5 Things I Loved About Last Week #celebratelu 6/7/14

  1. I am LOVING the cat & kiddo photo. It always amazes me the things that children allow their pets to do to them. Our lab used to sit on the kids as if she were a tiny lapdog. 🙂 She was 55 pounds and could practically squish them, but they never complained. Just giggled & giggled while petting her.

  2. Hi Elisabeth, love all your pictures, the kitties must be delightful! And that pic with your son & Perfect, bonding extraordinaire. Cats are so interesting & can be lovers when they choose! I used to do that art scribble with students-have forgotten about it. They usually came up with something they saw in the picture, colored & named it. Much fun!

    • I checked out a great book from the library called Art Lab (about doing art with kids) and it has a scribble project similar to what you describe–do a scribble and then find an animal in it, cut it out, and then create a new piece of art with it. So I might try that next! I don’t know what we’d do without our cats. My son assures me he will NEVER have cats when he grows up, but he is really fond of a couple of them.

  3. I love your word ‘goalify.’ I chuckled to myself reading that line because it is just the sort of thing my head would do, too! And, of course, I could not resist clicking the link to your earlier post. You captured all the tension and the reward of your work as a mother. Somehow the universe operates that way–when the challenge is that much greater, so is the reward. The time, patience, and effort you are giving over and over again are worth every ounce of discomfort.

  4. I like your idea of weekly art night. You have made the start. I went back reading your parenting slice. Your way of words is admirable. Enjoy the summer!

  5. Your post about parenting has stayed with me for days. Powerful and honest. I think just as much as we need to publish what we feel not quite sure about, other people need to read it. Your words and honesty were a gift to all of us. I too love the photos!

  6. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 6/9/14 #imwayr | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

