Sunday Salon: A Round-up of Online Reading 6/1/14

Sunday Salon

Adam Gopnik’s piece on the powerfully affecting words of Richard Martinez, father of one of the victims of the recent Isla Vista shootings, is my must-read of the week.

One of my favorite posts this week was book blogger Florinda’s reflections on writing in your own voice. Her thoughts about weekly memes and content development got me thinking about my own blog and how it does–and doesn’t–reflect me and my voice.

Dana Murphy’s post on how she plans to write productively this summer got me thinking about my own writing goals. Alyson’s post on Summer Learning Goals also helped me begin thinking about my plans.

Cristin Stickles writes her autobiography in 16 authors, and it’s funny and brilliant.

Fuse #8 Production highlights a few children’s novels that desperately need new cover designs.

The Amazon-Hachette brouhaha has led to a lot of comments online meant to shame those of us who buy through Amazon instead of patronizing our local indies. As a voracious reader whose “local” indie would entail a 5.5 hour drive to Denver (and whose only truly local bookstore, a small chain, is still 60 miles away and mostly carries Christian titles), I appreciated Kelly Jensen’s piece for Book Riot, Your Local Brick & Mortar Bookstore Is a Privilege.

I already loved Dan Santat (if you haven’t seen his book trailer for Carnivores, watch it now), but this terrific piece at 7 Impossible Things Before Breakfast made me love him even more.

The author and illustrator of what is PERHAPS my favorite picture book (A Sick Day for Amos McGee) have started a new blog feature wherein they interview other amazing children’s books authors and illustrators. I am insanely excited about this.

The Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards for Excellence in Children’s Literature were announced this week, and it’s a strong (and fairly diverse) group of titles.

Shana at Three Teachers Talk reflects on her first year structuring her classroom as a reading and writing workshop. She gives the workshop method an A+, gives herself a B, and includes two A+ photos of her students’ reading stacks from 9th, 10th, and 11th grade. If these photos aren’t an argument for reading workshop, I don’t know what is.

Julie Danielson shares her favorite thing about parenting, which is my favorite thing too: reading aloud!

Why I didn’t know about The Guardian’s charming “How to Draw” series that shows readers how to draw different characters from children’s literature? Link via Reads for Keeps

I’ve been reading many end-of-the-school-year posts this week, and Katherine Sokolowski’s celebration of endings is one of the most touching.

I like quirky gardening projects, and this man’s dragon-shaped hedge definitely qualifies.

Larry Cuban has an interesting piece on why the school-as-factory metaphor has such longevity.

Todd Nesloney’s school-wide day of appreciation and celebration, #YouMatter, was a big success.

Jessica Woodbury shares 7 Habits of Highly Effective Readers. I’ll be sharing this one in my Children’s and Adolescent Literature courses next year.

Michael Berube writes about the challenges his son, who has Down’s Syndrome, now faces as an adult trying to find meaningful employment for himself.

You have to read Zach Baron’s terrific profile of rapper 50 Cent, 50 Cent Is My Life Coach. Seriously.

I want to make this Peanut Butter Icebox Cake so badly.

One thought on “Sunday Salon: A Round-up of Online Reading 6/1/14

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 6/2/14 | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

