Nonfiction Picture Book Wednesday: The Scraps Book #nfpb2014

nonfiction picture book challenge button

I’m participating in Kid Lit Frenzy’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge. Visit her blog to find out more!

Lois Ehlert is one important children’s book author and illustrator I need to be more familiar with. While I admire her books, I don’t love them. But I’ve started reading and rereading, hoping that I’m going to fall in love. So far, I am still in appreciation.

scraps book

But I have found one of her books that I truly love: her new picture book autobiography, The Scraps Book: Notes from a Colorful Life.

It’s fitting that a collage artist write an autobiography that’s more collage than anything else. Ehlert mixes autobiography, old photos, meaningful objects from her collections, examples of her work, early sketches and finished pages from her books, book dummies, and advice for young artists. It’s a rich and inspiring story about art and creativity and a real tribute to her parents who always made things themselves and thought it was natural that their daughter should want to make things too. And it’s also accessible and engaging for all kinds of readers, from the young child who knows she is an artist to the 41-year old college professor who can barely draw a stick figure (that would be me). I finished the book very much wanting to start collecting and creating things myself.

5 thoughts on “Nonfiction Picture Book Wednesday: The Scraps Book #nfpb2014

  1. That you love this title says a lot. These books are so special through little eyes who eat up the images in all of their rich colour. Find a five year old to read a Ehlert title to! This autobiography looks just incredible!

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 4/21/14 #imwayr | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

