Sunday Salon: A Round-Up of Online Reading

Sunday Salon

Pernille Ripp has some excellent suggestions for bringing joy back into the classroom. I can attest to the picture book suggestion–PB’s bring joy even to college students!

Leigh Ann reflects on what she learned about writing and about herself after writing for 31 days in a row for the Slice of Life Challenge. Congrats!

I can’t resist a cat post, especially when the cat suggests a valuable lesson about teaching with love, compassion and understanding.

Fandmonopoly

Speaking of cats, here’s a photo I took of Frances stretching her way into the boys’ Monopoly game earlier today. Isn’t she perfect??

Clare and Tammy share some ideas for working with advanced readers.

I love Gary Anderson’s idea for a five-minute break in the day for students to write down one thing that’s NOT wrong.

I don’t use my devices during time with my children, but I do work from home, which means home is hardly a device-free zone. Doug Belshaw’s post about children having to compete for their parents’ attention with smartphones and other devices has made me think about my own practices. (Also, if you haven’t subscribed to his weekly newsletter, you should: I always find something interesting to read.)

Jennifer at Empathic Teacher explains why April is the very best time to try new things in the classroom.

Megan Whalen Turner has a Tumblr!

Katherine Sokolowski has a thought-provoking post on being vulnerable. I just started reading the Brene Brown book she writes about in her post and find myself doing a lot of reflecting on teaching and parenting (a place I REALLY hate to be vulnerable.)

I am trying very hard to persuade myself that I do not, repeat DO NOT, need to make this Peanut Butter Overload Cake. Especially since I’m the only one in my house who is obsessed with the PB-chocolate combo. But doesn’t it look amazing?

I missed posting my own Saturday Celebration yesterday: my older son is needing some very intensive therapeutic parenting these days, and I never got a chance to turn on my computer. But there are plenty of reasons to celebrate, as Carrie’s post about her wonderful week shows. So much #booklove!

3 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: A Round-Up of Online Reading

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 4/7/14 #imwayr | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

