It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/9/14 #imwayr

IMWAYR

Visit Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers to participate in the kidlit version of this weekly meme.

On my blog this week:

henry hugginsMy younger son and I are slowly reading our way through Beverly Cleary’s books. I prefer Ramona (maybe because that series was my own childhood favorite), but I enjoyed rereading Henry Huggins. My favorite chapter was definitely the one where Henry’s fish start multiplying and soon, he has used all his mother’s canning and pickling jars to house fish.

cecil and jordan

I assigned Cecil and Jordan in New York, a collection of short stories in graphic novel format by Gabrielle Bell, in my Contemporary Lit class. I really liked this book, though I’m not sure it’s going to stick with me very long.

We read a couple dozen picture books, but I’ll only highlight my favorites:

gilbert goldfish

gakky two feet maria had a little llama gruffalo child count the monkeys snatchabook flight of dodo

Next week, I’m hoping to make some progress on my latest reading challenges: Scholastic Library Journal’s Battle of the Books, which kicks off Monday, and for The Hub Reading Challenge.

Reading Goals Update:

Nerdbery Challenge: 0/12 books

#MustReadin2014: 4/15 books

YA Shelf of Shame Challenge: 0/12 books

Professional Development Reading Goal: 2/12 books

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge: 22/100 books

Picture Book Reading Goal: 106/350 books

Chapter Book & Middle-Grade Reading Goal: 8/100 books

YA Lit Reading Goal: 12/60 books

Latin@s in Kidlit Challenge: 7/12 books

Number of Books Total (not counting picture books): 39/200

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/9/14 #imwayr

  1. I am smiling just looking at the cover of The Flight of the Dodo. I remember sharing this with a group of quite serious children one year and I thought they would burst trying not to laugh. Finally we just let the giggles happen. Such a wonderfully quirky book! I love that you are reading these Cleary books with your younger son. I so adored revisiting these with my daughter when she was younger.

  2. Hi! I have read some of the picture books, but others are new-what fun that Gakky Two Feet looks like. Others too. Thanks Elisabeth-hope the class is going well!

  3. Lots of familiar picturebooks here and a few not-so-familiar ones. Flight of the Dodo by Peter Brown looks great – seems like a new title. I know I have to find Snatchabook soonest! 🙂

Leave a Reply

