Sunday Salon: Weekly Links

9613723230_1cd9de3f68_z

 

In Common Core news, Arne Duncan made yet another bone-headed statement, insulting “white suburban moms” everywhere.

Paul Thomas has a must-read follow-up post that examines “the politics of white outrage.” 

And if you haven’t watched the powerful anti-CCSS speech from the Tennessee student, I recommend it.

I never really thought about the benefits of pens over pencils in writing workshop, but Elizabeth Moore convinces me that pens are the way to go.

I totally agree with Larry Ferlazzo that there is no such thing as an unmotivated student.

Ellie Herman has another great post profiling high school English teacher Barry Smolin. I love Smolin’s comment about the artistry of teaching, and I tend to agree more than not with his claim that you can’t reduce teaching to a set of techniques that can be taught to someone else. Her second post on Smolin shares what she learned about great teaching from observing his class.

Cathy Day’s post on writing workshop has given me some ideas for finetuning my Comp I workshop next fall.

This post on teaching the web is going to be very helpful when I’m putting together my new Digital Literacy course.

I also want to use this digital storytelling project in that class.

Jabiz Raisdana wonders what would happen if we praise kids for the great job they’ve done rather than pushing them to improve even more.

Inquiry Within reflects on the challenges of learning to let go in the classroom.

I loved this profile of Aaron Becker, author/illustrator of one of my favorite picture books of the year.

Dylan Teut asks if he could do his job as a teacher without books (the answer is no!).

Donalyn Miller has a lovely post about her husband and their reading lives at The Nerdy Book Club.

Reading the Great War seems like a fun reading challenge for 2014.

I wish more schools would be intentional in their designs and structures.

The learning experience at every conference I attend would be much improved if presenters would attend to this one simple rule.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Weekly Links

  1. I really enjoy your blog & am especially interested in your Sunday Salon–clever idea for posting your online reading. Curious–how were you inspired to start Sunday Salon? Thanks for sharing each week!

    • Thanks for reading and commenting! There is an official Sunday Salon meme for book bloggers, though I’m not quite sure what the focus of that is. So much of my learning takes place through my Twitter PLN and the content they curate, but not all of my blog readers are on Twitter. I wanted to be able to share my favorite content on my blog for those readers. When I was trying to think about what I might call a weekly thread like that, I was looking through Creative Commons-licensed images for something related to “reading” and saw the photo I decided to use for this feature. The photo got me thinking about 18th-century French salons where people would gather to have wide-ranging conversations on diverse topics. For me, Twitter is like such a salon!

      • Well, fabulous idea you have with your salon and thanks for sharing your thinking and history of it. I feel the same way about Twitter being a salon for learning and sharing conversations on topics.

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/18/13 | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

