Sunday Salon on Saturday: Weekly Links

9613723230_1cd9de3f68_z

I’m going to be traveling all day tomorrow and won’t have time to put together my regular Sunday feature, but I know it’s my mom’s favorite thing on my blog, so I decided to give her a thrill and post it today.

A few stories from #opened13:

The Digital Hechinger Report critiqued Andrew Ng’s opening keynote, which was made infinitely more entertaining to audience members who were following the Twitter backchannel.

Audrey Watters posted her entire keynote and awesome slides on her blog.

David Kernohan created a short documentary film for his keynote, and it’s well worth watching.

Geoff Cain heard a great story from Jordan Epp about a student who hacked the syllabus for one of his courses. (Cain also blogged about many of the sessions he attended, so I’ll be trying to catch up on his blog and learn from him this week.)

Cain’s blog sent me to Jordan Epp’s blog, where I found this lovely short post called No More Colouring Books. Here, here.

Vivien Rolfe gave an interesting presentation on her research into what the literature has to say (very little, it turns out) on student experiences in MOOCs.

And in other places around the world:

Troy Hicks has a smart piece about teaching pre-service teachers how to teach writing.

Frustrated with your school’s social media policies? Check out the comments in “Rethinking School Social Media Policies.”

Really good advice for handling a bad teaching day at Larry Ferlazzo’s blog.

Colby Sharp visited a college Children’s Lit course this week and was asked to bring only 5 books with him. Here’s what he brought and, more importantly, why. (Glad to see two books I’m teaching in Children’s Lit next semester on his list!)

Brian Phillips has written one of the best and most provocative pieces about bullying and the destructive culture of masculinity in the NFL. Kind of loved what Chicago wideout Brandon Marshall had to say about it too.

Those who are participating in #NaNoWriMo may find Malinda Lo’s terrific post about the myth of inspiration helpful.

Julianna Baggott also has a writing post that everyone should read: You Want to Write or Do You Want to Be a Writer?

Janice Galloway thinks through the art and craft of the short story.

I loved Liana Silva Ford’s post on why she didn’t sign up for #NaNoWriMo.

We hear so much hype about the Finnish school system, so I was interested in reading this account of Teaching Training in Finland. If anything, it sounds like American students get considerably more training (though they still feel unprepared, but hey, that’s just how it is), but I do love the way Finland pairs pre-service teachers at a school so they can observe each other and give feedback. I also don’t think it hurts that Finland is highly selective in accepting students into teaching programs.

My new favorite follow on Twitter: @EmrgencyKittens. I’m not sure how often a great cat photo appears in your Twitter feed–all I know is it’s more than once a day. And that is fine by me!

And also, I miss Frances when I travel, so I thought I’d repost a favorite photo of her because maybe everyone else misses her too!

frances1

3 thoughts on “Sunday Salon on Saturday: Weekly Links

  1. Thank you very much for getting this blog done. I know it wasn’t easy since you are so busy with your conference and Nano’ing.

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/11/13 | the dirigible plum

  3. Pingback: 32. 41. 1147. 1. 16. 3. And Infinity. | kelseyempfield

Leave a Reply

