It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/23/13

IMWAYR

 

Visit Teach Mentor Texts or Unleashing Readers to participate in this weekly meme.

I did do a lot of reading this week: continued listening to my current (awesome!) audio, The King of Attolia, made some progress in The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate, started Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library, started Teach Like a Pirate and read another couple of chapters of Pathways to the Common Core. I’ll continue those books this week and hopefully finish something.

This week was all about the picture book.

journey story story dumpster diver we are in a book told woman who named things dandelions crankee doodle ruth and the green book farm carnivores mr tiger goes wild what to do about alice hello my name is ruby madline lyle at the office chubbo's poolboy in garden louise scaredy squirrel beach grasshopper on the road evie and margie i will not go to the market today baby brains

 

 

We continued our quest to be completists with Allard’s & Marshall’s books, Arnold Lobel’s books, and Bernard Waber’s books. I wouldn’t say any of the books we read by those authors/illustrators this week were particular standouts, but hey, we read them!

Standouts for me were definitely Journey, The Old Woman Who Named Things, Mr Tiger Goes Wild, Dandelions, Crankee Doodle, and Farm.

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/23/13

    • The Dumpster Diver was quite interesting and whimsically designed and drawn. Definitely worth a look. And yes, Journey is incredible! Often when I purchase new picture books, I donate them to my local library after I read them a couple of times to my kids, but that’s one I’m going to have to hang onto!

  1. Some fantastic books here. My faves from this list: Journey, We are in a Book, and Ruth and the Green Book. I suspect Mr. Tiger would be on that list too if I had already read it, but I am still waiting for it to arrive.

    • Mr Tiger reminded me a bit of Oliver Jeffers’s The Hueys in The New Sweater, at least thematically. But it’s ever so much more beautiful. Ruth & the Green Book was so interesting, wasn’t it? Hope your Mr Tiger arrives soon!

    • Isn’t Farm wonderful? I’ve read it a couple of times and I’m amazed at the use of language. Cooper can WRITE. And I’m really wondering if Cynthia Rylant has any books that are even mediocre. I had read some middling-of-the-road book aloud to my kids before picking up The Old Woman Who Named Things, and reading that out loud was like reading poetry. She takes such care to craft her sentences. I am enjoying Calpurnia Tate quite a bit–I love the Darwin connections. Have you read the Charles and Emma biography that was a Printz Honor a few years ago? I’ve been a bit obsessed ever since!

Leave a Reply

