It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8/12/13

IMWAYR

 

In honor of #pb10for10, for today’s It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?, I’m going to write another Top 10 list: the Top 10 Picture Books I read in the last week. It was actually a very strong week for picture books. I read over 50 this week, and 16 of them were vying for a spot in my Top 10 for the week.

If you love lists and/or picture books, you might want to check out the whole collection of blog posts for #pb10for10, but be warned: it is very easy to lose a lot of time and money reading these lists!

and then it was spring

And Then It’s Spring, written by Julie Fogliano and illustrated by the amazing Erin Stead

story of fish and snail

 

The Story of Fish & Snail, written and illustrated by Deborah Freedman

sweet clara

 

Sweet Clara and the Freedom Quilt, written by Deborah Hopkinson and illustrated by James Ransome

what you know first

 

What You Know First, written by Patricia MacLachlan and illustrated by Barry Moser

 pirate of kindergarten

 

The Pirate of Kindergarten, written by George Ella Lyon and illustrated by Lynne Avril

minty

Minty, written by Alan Schroeder and illustrated by Jerry Pinkney

 

 

planting the trees of kenya

 

Planting the Trees of Kenya, written and illustrated by Claire Nivola

dad jackie and me

Dad, Jackie, and Me, written by Myron Uhlberg and illustrated by Colin Bootman

emily brown and thing

 

Emily Brown and the Thing, written by Cressida Cowell and illustrated by Neal Layton

snowflake bentley

 

Snowflake Bentley, written by Jacqueline Briggs Martin and illustrated by Mary Azarian

I hope everyone enjoys their week of reading!

9 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8/12/13

  1. Wow 50 picture books — impressive! And Then It’s Spring . . . is a favorite title of mine. It is just so calming and soothing to me. I’m really looking forward to The Story of Fish and Snail. And many of your titles are making their way on to my TBR! 🙂

    • I am going to have to read And Then It’s Spring several more times before returning to the library. Erin Stead’s art is so beautiful, and I also loved the clarity and humor of Fogliano’s writing. Really loved that one. I think you’l love The Story of Fish & Snail. There are a couple of eye-popping illustrations. I don’t see how Freedman does it! (It was hard to leave Blue Chicken, which I also read this week, off my list of the week’s top 10!) Now off for a library haul…. my TBR list is HUGE right now, thanks to #pb10for10!

  2. Those are great titles! I love And Then It’s Spring. The line about please not stomping on the seeds because they are growing gets me every time. Fogliano and Stead’s newest one, If You Want to See a Whale is good too.

  3. Wow-fifty! Amazingly, and I went back to see your PB10for10 too, there are only two I don’t know-all terrific books! I didn’t know about The Three Pigs and Emily Brown and the Thing-both look like fun, so thanks much for sharing. FYI-I love What You Know First-so beautiful!

  4. Top ten lists become somewhat addictive don’t they! I think I also shared 10 picture books in my Monday post! I so love Erin Stead’s art. If you want to see a Whale is a title I keep buying and gifting (mind you first gift was to me!)

Leave a Reply

