It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8/5/13

IMWAYR

 

Join the fun at Unleashing Readers or Teach Mentor Texts.

missed connections

Sophie Blackall’s Missed Connections is a delight. Blackall illustrates ads posted on Craigslist’s Missed Connections site, which I’d never heard of before this book. But I see the appeal: you make eye contact with a handsome stranger as you pass on the street. You’ll never see each other again. (Which is actually the beauty of the Missed Connection.) But apparently thousands of people take to the Internet to post the details of their fleeting contacts in the hopes that the object of their gaze is also looking for them. The ads themselves make for terrific reading: spare, evocative, often poignant. And Blackall’s art is superb, as always. I also enjoyed her introductory essay about the project.

ivy and bean ghost

 

 

I read the second Ivy & Bean story, Ivy + Bean and the Ghost That Had to Go, to my kids this week. (Also illustrated by Sophie Blackall!) The ghost story was a bit intense for my second-grader, but my fifth-grader loved the book, as did I.

last dragonslayer

I read Jasper Fforde’s The Last Dragonslayer just in time for the early September release of Book 2 in the series.  I loved the first couple of Thursday Next novels, then felt a bit blah about one of the sequels and didn’t read any more, but this novel, his first for children (though I can’t imagine reading this to my two kids–most of it would be WAY over their heads…. for me, this book is more properly shelved with YA), made me want to get back to the Thursday Next series and also try the Nursery Crimes novels. The Last Dragonslayer was a really enjoyable read–and hard to put down. A very fine book to break a reading slump. (I was also inspired to get this book from the library after reading a good review in another reader’s “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” post last week. Wish I could remember whose post it was! Anyway, thank you to whoever posted about The Last Dragonslayer!)

Hope everyone has a great reading week!

 

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8/5/13

  1. Missed Connections does sound like a fun format! My younger, who can also be spooked, enjoys the Ivy and Bean books. I’ll have to see what she thought of that one!

    • As I was reading it, I kept thinking what a terrific audiobook it would be. I wish my library had a larger selection of audios, because I do love to read in that format as well. Sometimes Fforde is a bit too clever for his own good, but I really enjoyed this one.

  2. The Dirigible Plum-how cute. Now that I know I found another Harry Potter fan I hope to see us connecting more often. Missed Connections sounds like the basis for a great chick flick. I would watch it..

Leave a Reply

