Friday Finds: Stuff I’ve Been Reading Online

Pernille Ripp wrote a beautiful reflection on “What My Students Taught Me This Year.”

I’ll be sharing Lynda Barry’s words about what happens to creativity and art in adolescence with my pre-service teachers.

Patrick McLean celebrates composing by hand in an elegantly-written piece “In Defense of Longhand”.

Lydia Davis just won the Man Booker Prize. Maybe I’ll have to try to read her again? Christopher Ricks has a thoughtful appraisal of her work. 

I have never heard of P.K. Page, which isn’t surprising, since according to Alyssa Mackenzie’s review of a recent biography, she is “the most important Canadian author you probably never heard of.” Page, a prolific writer as well as painter, influenced writers I do know and love–Michael Ondaatje and Margaret Atwood.

The Daily Beast asked authors to nominate one book all college students should read before graduating. The usual suspects show up, but Junot Diaz, Francine Prose and a few others make surprising choices.

Bookslut had a good piece on Natalia Ginzburg, who was one of my favorite writers when I was 16. I haven’t read her in many, many years, but somewhere on my shelves there are several of her novels and I think some essays.

Teen Librarian Toolbox recommends 5 MTV shows that are worth watching, especially if you work with teens.

So much of what Sir Ken Robinson says about creativity applies to learning in general.

I read a few thought-provoking pieces about MOOCs this week. Derek Bruff asks Why Isn’t the Digital Humanities Community Building Great MOOCs? and suggests that we need to rethink our pedagogy to make a meaningful learning experience out of a Digital Humanities MOOC. Degree of Freedom teases out the differences between xMOOCs and xMOOCs and claims that sometimes learning from the sage-on-stage works best. Kris Shaffer has some ideas for dealing with the fear of the MOOC.

I’m a repeat offender MOOC drop-out, but I might sign up for this one and actually follow through and participate: Making Learning Connected.

Finally, Tressiemc poses an important question: Are all of your education disruptors white? Comments are also interesting.

Leave a Reply

