It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/11/13

Mon Reading Button PB to YA

Visit Teach Mentor Texts for the round-up of kids/YA weekly reading.

This will be very quick, as I am swamped with work–which is what happens when you actually take a break over spring break. But it seems silly to start participating in this meme at long last and then skip my second time of participating.

I had an excellent reading week, though I did intend to read more. But I read two books very slowly, and one of those–Code Name Verity–led to the need to take an afternoon off from reading just to recover and absorb and reflect on the awesomeness that is Code Name Verity.

code name

I already wrote about this one. If you haven’t read it, turn off your computer right now and read it.

hero and crown

For my Newbery challenge, I read this 1985 winner. I thought I’d already read this book but no part of it seemed familiar, so it was a lovely treat, discovering a Robin McKinley that I hadn’t read before. There are also dragons, and dragons make everything better.

alias

This very short graphic novel dramatizes the true story of a librarian in Basra, Iraq, who saved thousands of books from destruction by removing them (illegally!) from the library. It only took a few minutes to read, and it was quite interesting and informative.

explorer

I loved this graphic novel! It’s really a collection of short stories, linked by the appearance of some kind of mysterious box in each story. The graphic styles varies from story to story, as each chapter is written and illustrated by a different graphic artist.

titanic

Deborah Hopkinson’s YA nonfiction account of the Titanic disaster is incredibly absorbing and even suspenseful–which is quite the feat.

twelve kinds

I’m not really sure how to write about this book because it’s so different from anything else I’ve read. It’s a collection of short memoir-vignettes on the twelve different kinds of ice (and ice skating) throughout a winter season in Maine. Lovely and unexpected.

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/11/13

  1. Robin McKinley is great for readers of high fantasy, and Twelve Kinds of Ice was raelly charming and different. Lots of good things to read- hope you have more for this week.

Leave a Reply

