My Year of Reading 2012

This year, I read 139 books plus probably at least 350 picture books. (In 2013, I’m going to keep track of the picture books I read on goodreads.com).

I read the most in December, when I did a #bookaday challenge (picture books not included). I read the least in October (just 5 books)—not sure why.

I read 27 graphic novels, 16 Newbery Medal or Honor books, 8 parenting books, and 12 books about teaching.

My list doesn’t account for the books I started and abandoned—if I included those, my list would probably be more like 500 books. I don’t generally finish books I don’t like, so I did like almost all of the books I read this year.

But these were my favorites:
fault
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Loved this one so much, I had to read it twice.

scorpio races
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

our tragic
Our Tragic Universe by Scarlett Thomas.

burma
Burma Chronicles by Guy Delisle

safe area
Safe Area Gorazde by Joe Sacco.

good soldiers
The Good Soldiers by David Finkel.

changing my mind
Changing My Mind by Zadie Smith

chairs are where
The Chairs Are Where the People Go by Misha Glouberman and Sheila Heti

gods behaving badly
Gods Behaving Badly by Marie Phillips

one hundred
One Hundred Demons by Lynda Barry

behind the beautiful
Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katharine Boo

liar and spy
Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead

seraphina
Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

why-school
Why School? By Will Richardson

book love
Book Love by Penny Kittle

moonbird
Moonbird by Philip Hoose

good
Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! By Laura Amy Schlitz

Leave a Reply

