Writers First

I have been thinking a lot about the questions Anthony Sedun asked in his presentation at NCTE12. What kinds of stories are teachers allowed to tell? Are certain narratives privileged over others? Do we have the freedom to say the same things about education that Sir Ken Robinson said in his opening keynote speech? If not, why not? Can social media be considered a form of storytelling?

And this one has been particularly interesting to me: what would happen if we think about ourselves as writers first and teachers second?

He showed us Dr. Danielle Ofri’s blog, where she identifies herself as Writer-Editor-Physician, in that order. Her writing life holds the central, privileged place—which is interesting to me, given that her books are about her medical practice.

I don’t know what would happen if I thought about myself as a writer first, a teacher second.

I’m guessing I would probably do a lot more writing.

I might use that time I list on my weekly schedule for “Research and Writing” to actually write.

I might set daily/weekly word count goals for myself so that NaNoWriMo isn’t the only time of the year when I consistently write.

I might try to finish some of the projects I have started.

I might write in front of my students and with my students.

I might spend less time planning my teaching and more time doing my writing.

I would write.

One thought on “Writers First

  1. Since I am clearly leaving a comment now, I think it must have something to do with my home computer.
    What I wanted to say about this post is that I find what you wrote intriguing. Did you write rhetorically, or are you trying to come to an answer about this? Are you wondering in hopes of arriving at an understanding, or are you wondering because YOU are also intrigued by this supposition?

Leave a Reply

