Sunday Salon: A Round-up of Online Reading 8/10/14

Sunday Salon

Connected Learning

Planning to participate in Global Read-aloud and connect your students with other readers around the world? Some wonderful books have been selected, and this schedule will help you plan.

Crawling Out of the Classroom has a terrific post about how joining Twitter has energized her teaching. Becoming a connected educator is the most exciting thing I’ve done for my own learning as well.

I try to avoid using an LMS as much as I can in my online courses. This post gives me some new ideas to try–especially regarding email and communication.

Julie Johnson reflects on a summer of digital making.

Renee Boss at Learning to Muse posted her own Sunday Salon last week. Hope she continues because I love to learn from others in my PLN. (Renee also inspired me to stop being so lazy and organize my Sunday Salon!)

For Readers and Teachers of Reading

I know that all my #nerdybookclub friends are going to want to read this terrific interview with Natalie Lloyd, author of A Snicker of Magic.

Betsy Bird shares an updated list of children’s literature blogs, though there is one gigantic oversight here: she doesn’t include my own favorite children’s lit blog, There’s a Book for That (also, Canadian blogger!).

Katherine Sokolowski shares how she teaches a love of picture books in her fifth-grade classroom.

Three Teachers Talk has a valuable post on what self-identification as a non-reader really means. (Hint: it doesn’t always mean non-reading.) Great ideas for working with “non-readers” in this post.

Fig & Thistle has a post I just love about reading challenges and choosing what to read next.

Used Books in Class brags about independent reading in her classroom and explains why it works. Love the photos of students holding cards with the number of books they read!

For Writers, Bloggers, and Teachers of Writing

Girlxoxo shares 10 Tips on Book Blogging That Will Help You Win Friends & Influence People. Good ideas to build a blog–and ideas that you might not see on other lists of tips.

George Couros’s 5 Ideas to Help You Blog provides solid inspiration and tips as well as a sound justification for blogging as a way to learn.

One of my favorite YA novelists, Nina Lacour, has a lovely and moving essay braiding some big topics together: love, homosexuality, religion, and why she writes the books she does. One of my favorite reads of the week.

Two Writing Teachers published a useful series of posts on setting up writing workshop. Check out this recap with links to all the posts.

Amy at Three Teachers Talk explains how and why she reads like a writer. Some excellent reflection here on what doesn’t work to teach students how to write (all those “cruel and unusual assignments” that I’ve been guilty of giving too!)–and what does.

Random Links

These dresses created from the pages of romance novels are gorgeous. Wish I’d known about this exhibit when I was in Chicago!

These comic book themed weddings are so awesome.

Cory Arcangel has compiled a whole book/novel of people tweeting with the hashtag, #workingonmynovel. I kind of want to read it.

Interesting and sometimes disturbing piece from The New Yorker archives by Elizabeth Kolbert on the rewilding movement.

 

6 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: A Round-up of Online Reading 8/10/14

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 8/11/14 | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

