Sunday Salon: A Round-up of Online Reading

Sunday Salon

The most important post I read this week is Will Richardson’s plea for meaningful work in school. This is going to become required reading in all my courses.

Audrey Watters made a Storify of Louis CK’s criticism of Common Core testing in New York. This is good stuff!

Junot Diaz writes about what it was like being a person of color in the whitey whitey whiteville of MFA programs. Spoiler alert: it sucked.

Pleased to see some love for one of my new favorite writers, Jason Reynolds. Beth Shaum is giving away a copy of his new YA novel, When I Was the Greatest, AND she reviewed one of my favorite books I’ve read this year, Reynolds’s collaboration with artist Jason Griffin, My Name Is Jason. Mine Too.

The Hub makes book recommendations for the characters on my favorite TV show of all time, Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Great choices here!

Somehow I missed the month of March when one of my favorite YA authors, Jaclyn Moriarty, was blogging at Inside a Dog.  But that’s what archives are for.

Gabrielle Prendergast explains why verse novels are a good format choice for writing about edgier content.

Every school needs to start a Take a Book Leave a Book program.

I loved reading about the students’ first classroom Skype visit with an author in Carrie Gelson’s classroom. Sounds like it was a huge success! (Great ideas for other classroom teachers on preparing for a Skype author visit too). And bonus, my copy of Rump was returned to the classroom library this week so now I can finally read it!

I enjoyed participating in the #WeNeedDiverseBooks twitter campaign this week (mostly by retweeting other people’s words; my one original tweet focused on my particular soapbox, the need for diverse authors to be honored by the ALA with major kidlit prizes; I can’t think of a better way to make a quality kid’s book into a bestseller than to award it the Caldecott, Newbery, or Printz). There were many excellent blog posts, and I especially enjoyed Alyson’s at Kid Lit Frenzy.

Chelsea Condren’s post at The Hub, The Time I Cried All Over David Levithan (Or Representation Matters), is a must-read.

Kathleen T. Horning analyzes the dismal statistics about diversity in children’s literature and reminds us that buying books is a political act. That’s one reason why the majority of my book budget goes to purchasing diverse titles.

I really want to buy this book about the link between creativity and failure. As well as this book about organic farming.

I’m thinking about attending the Plum Creek Literacy Festival in September. Can’t believe a small town in Nebraska has Jack Gantos, Nick Bruehl, Rosemary Wells, and Donalyn Miller (among many others) coming for an event!

I have never participated in Armchair BEA before, but some of the blogging topics are appealing.

Justin Tarte shares 10 ways blogging can benefit educators.

Ariel Sacks’s best advice for new teachers is to find a mentor and keep in touch.

Clarence Fisher reminds us why we want students to learn and share their learning online.

Pernille Ripp asks a really important question: “If there is no love of reading, then what do we need reading strategies for?”

Amanda MacGregor’s piece about how news of her father’s death spread through social media before she had even been notified gave me plenty to think about.

Automated grading of essays is clearly stupid–but then assigning essays for the sole purpose of having them graded by computers is even more stupid. Still, I rather like the idea of a “tireless, automated version” of myself. Though I think I’d give the tireless automated me something better to do than grade essays.

This piece by a reporter who quit email for a week is quite interesting.

The single best way to get smart and happy? Take a walk.

Also found an older happiness post that argues we’d all be happier if we did what brings us joy rather than what’s easiest. 

I’m kind of obsessed with caramel lately, which means I definitely need to make The Best Caramel Sauce.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: A Round-up of Online Reading

  1. I thought the article by Amanda MacGregor was sad. I cannot imagine how it would feel to be bombarded by so many responses to her father’s death from people that she is not close to and may not even know, much less from the people that she does want to hear from.
    I also enjoyed the article on how walking can trigger new brain-cell growth.

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #imwayr 5/5/14 | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

