Sunday Salon: A Round-up of Online Reading

Sunday Salon

Carrie reflects on Harry, the student my Methods class calls “that kid”–the one other teachers pull you aside in the hallway to warn you about. The one whose reputation precedes him–sometimes by years. The one who just doesn’t fit inside the box we call school. I loved this post, and especially these lines: we need to “stop thinking about ways to change him and to start thinking about ways to have school work for him.” This made me think about all my behavior-challenged high school students, and what potential there might have been for them had we tried to think creatively about ways to make school work for them. Instead, many of them ended up getting expelled. It never occurred to most of the adults at the school that perhaps kids had reasons for their behavior, reasons, Carrie reminds us, “that you don’t know when looking at him.” This post is such an important read for every teacher–and administrator.

Julianne’s post about getting unstuck made me reflect on my own classroom and what I’m doing with some of my stuck students.

I also enjoy a glimpse into another writer’s notebooks, and Lee Ann Spillane uses drawing in such an interesting way in hers.

Vicki Vinton has a brilliant post on “the elephant in the room”–fear of losing control. This is definitely a post I’ll be sharing from now on in Methods class, as control issues come up so often as we think about what scares us about teaching.

Tony Keefer reminds us that rereading our favorite professional development books can lead to new insights and wonderings.

Kelly Jensen’s visual timeline of YA historical fiction about African-Americans strikingly illustrates a huge diversity problem in publishing.

Sacha Chua has a helpful post on how to develop your ideas into blog posts.

I already posted about how much I love The Brown Bookshelf’s February feature, 28 Days Later, and I especially enjoyed this post by Jason Reynolds, whose book My Name Is Jason. Mine Too was my favorite read from last week.

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: A Round-up of Online Reading

  1. Elisabeth, thanks for sharing my post here and for your words. Harry is a very important boy to me – for who he is and for what he represents. I wrote that post partly to find the courage I need to be an advocate for all the Harrys out there.

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/10/14 #imwayr | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

