Sunday Salon: Weekly Links 1/12/14

Sunday Salon

I probably shouldn’t start off my Sunday Salon with a sports article that focuses heavily on stats, but I found Doug Farrar’s statistical analysis of this weekend’s NFL playoffs match-ups absolutely riveting.

Paul Hankins and Teri Lesesne are having an interesting conversation on their blogs about young adult literature and teen reading. I’ll be sharing “Putting Our Feats to the Fire” and “Intention-al” with my Adolescent Lit course next week.

I am not sure if I could actually do sketch notes, but I’m fascinated by them and plan to show this set of examples to my classes in the hopes that someone else wants to do it and teach me how! Sacha Chua also has some interesting resources and examples of sketch notes. Her blog is new to me, and I’m looking forward to looking around in the archives.

Debbie Reese’s thoughtful review of Hooked by Liz Fichera examines some of the problematic stereotypes of Native American culture in this otherwise well-reviewed YA novel. The line about the coach jumping into a full-blown Grass Dance made me cringe. We won’t be reading this book in Adolescent Lit, but I would like to talk about Reese’s review.

I’ll definitely be using some of the resources listed in this article on Where the Best Designers Go to Find Photos to find copyright-appropriate photos to use on my blog.

Interesting story about how Teju Cole used Twitter to publish a short story.

Makeup artist Taj Peleg creates some absolutely incredible children’s lit-inspired eye makeup.

Daniel Kraus has a piece on the best book covers in YA and middle-grade lit in 2013.

This piece by George Couros makes me feel better about the rote memorization my kids are doing in math class.

Pernille Ripp posted a good guide for teachers about using Twitter. She urges teachers to make a couple of really good connections rather than following lots of educators indiscriminately. And I had to laugh at her comment about feeling like the kid who goes to prom only to take photos of all the cool kids.

Myra at Gathering Books highlighted one of my favorite picture books of 2013, Matchbox Diary. Her photos will inspire you to read this gorgeous book.

John Kuhn’s post on The Tyranny of Datum is this week’s absolute must-read education article.

The new National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature, Kate DiCamillo, has some recommendations for good books to share with said young people.

Tim shares the love that his Facebook status update joke about The Hunger Games received. His status update and the comments he shared made me laugh.

I was so excited to read Pernille Ripp’s description of what happened when she asked her 5th graders to plan and teach the lessons when a substitute teacher takes over Ripp’s class during her maternity leave. I have colleagues who wonder if it’s wise for me to ask college students to plan and teach the class (college students who are getting a degree in teaching). Well, now I can give them Ripp’s post and say yes. Yes, it is.

Finally, Jo Knowles, a very good YA novelist and super nice person, has a gorgeous post about her theme and challenge for 2014. I think everyone will be inspired by this post (and follow the link to the post about her theme for 2013–also gorgeous and very inspiring.)

 

3 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Weekly Links 1/12/14

  1. Thank you for posting the link to Jo Knowles’s post and for suggesting that readers might also love her earlier post a year ago. The interview that Knowles included in her earlier post between Terry Gross and Maurice Sendak with the wonderful artwork by Christoph Niemann was so beautiful and sad (and beautifully sad), but it resonated so much with me.
    You have the coolest things in your Sunday Salon!!

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 1/13/14 | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

