Sunday Salon: Weekly Links

9613723230_1cd9de3f68_z

Welcome to my absurdly long Sunday Salon! But I’ve taken a couple of weeks off and have a lot of links saved that I want to share.

Kirkus Review issued their list of Best Books for Teens and Best Books for Children.

School Library Journal has posted their best of the year list. (I linked to the fiction list. Be sure to click on Picture Books and Nonfiction as well.)

The New York Public Library has also released a wonderful list of 100 titles for reading and sharing.

The Millions “A Year in Reading” is one of my favorite end-of-year reading series. It will take me a few days to catch up on all the lists, but I really loved this one by Lydia Kiesling.

One of my favorite posts this week is Colby Sharp’s description of helping his daughter write her own story. I won’t be forgetting the first lines of her first story either!

My other favorite post this week is William Polking’s “Repugnant Smudge” for the Nerdy Book Club. Why shouldn’t students spend time reading in Reading class? Great question!

I offer my full support for Donalyn Miller’s #nerdlution: start a blog!

I also enjoyed reading Rhonda McMormack’s thought process for joining #nerdlution.

Dennis Jolley shares some ideas for turning non-readers into readers: classroom libraries, adolescent lit, and time in school to read feature heavily.

Unleashing Readers has some terrific recommendations for reluctant readers. 

What’s wrong with ed reform? Among many, many other things, there’s no attention paid to how human beings actually learn.

What’s really motivating the ed reform movement’s obsession with testing? Money, money, money.

Jeff Bale does an admirable job sorting out the anti-Common Core movement.

Sabrina Joy Stevens points out that Arne Duncan’s stupid comment about white moms is actually an opportunity to build community and common ground.

Perhaps we should listen to what students say about school and learning.

Even in Pernille Ripp’s classroom, students still hate school.

Another lovely post from Ellie Herman focusing on the challenges and rewards of working in high-poverty schools: no surprise, it’s all about relationships.

Gwerica on Literacy argues that teaching poetry really IS central to teaching the Common Core State Standards.

Empathic Teacher tackles the perennial problem of English teachers: grading papers. I like her suggestion: students reflect on their own writing and provide their own feedback.

Interested in creating a classroom where authentic learning happens? Check out Andrea Hernandez’s 9 Tips for Teaching in the Wild.

Twitter Is My Teacher Superpower! Oh yeah.

Cathy Davidson argues that we need to reinvent higher ed.

I really appreciate author Kirby Larson’s weekly feature where she invites teachers to guest blog. I loved reading Deb Krygeris’s reflections on how she learned to trust her instincts. Deb also confirms that I’m on the right track with what I’m doing in my teacher ed courses.

I couldn’t help but hear “There’s something nasty in the woodshed” when I read Katherine Sokolowski’s post about “something unsavory” on the clipboard. Loved how she handled this situation–and love even more that she writes about things like this. What a brave teacher and writer!

Lovely post from Sally O’Brian about the importance of cross-pollination: no classroom should be an island!

Looking for a way to get students engaging in serious discussion? Try Chalk Talk!

I’ve been thinking about adding something on note-taking to a couple of my classes. William Chamberlain’s post gives me some ideas.

Fred Haas shares some thoughts about students blogging. I was especially struck by his point about building audience for blogging. The first couple of times I had students blogging for class, it bombed, and I think the lack of audience was a big factor.

Tony Keefer challenged his students to a Thanksgiving break reading challenge. Read his post to find out what happened.

Writer’s block? Robin LaFevers offers some tips for Frog Marching the Muse.

Jared Cosulich wonders if all schools systems are really the same.

What four reporters discovered when they tried to do their kids’ homework for a week. (Spoiler alert: it sucked.)

One thought on “Sunday Salon: Weekly Links

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 12/9/13 | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

